Personal conflicts can effect your wagering

Its kinda impossible to not let emotions and events in our lives effect the way we see games and outcomes. Trying to remain objective when we are having issues and conflicts in our personal lives can be rather tough.

Recently I just went through this. Struggling with an illness in the family, I found myself in this boat … trying to handicap games and win money for my clients. Not easy. I have always preached that distractions should be kept out of a gamblers life, and one should simply focus on the lines and odds of the games scheduled for that day. However try and attempt that in real life when a situation presents itself.

It is always easy for me to put games on shelves and to take a few days off but when paying clients want action … everyday and night it’s not so easy.

New clients will come along and I always find it very interesting when they ask me “how much should I bet?” Do I really know the answer to that question? Hell no. Every gambler has a different situation they are in with cash flow and bankroll size. I always end up telling them the same thing that only they truly know the answer to that question. The best advice I can give is that when wagering on sports, a gambler should wager the same amount on each and every game and never double up or chase by upping wagers. That is the surest way to go through a bankroll. Oh yeah it’s tempting to think that when you are on a hot streak you should double wagers but it’s important to keep in mind that not every wager is hit. This method of bankroll management has kept me going through many years of wagering on both sports and the horses.

Leave a Reply

